HomePoliticsBJP Sweeps Dhanpur and Boxanagar Assembly Seats in Sepahijala, Tripura Amid Opposition's...

BJP Sweeps Dhanpur and Boxanagar Assembly Seats in Sepahijala, Tripura Amid Opposition’s Election Commission Accusations

The Election Commission (EC) has declared that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won both the Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly seats in Tripura’s Sepahijala district.

According to PTI, Tafajjal Hossain of the BJP won the Boxanagar seat by 30,237 votes. This seat has about 66% minority voters. Hossain received 34,146 votes, while CPI(M) candidate Mizan Hossain received 3,909 votes as his closest challenger.

Bindu Debnath of the BJP won the Dhanpur seat, which has a substantial tribal population, by 18,871 votes. Kaushik Chanda of the CPI(M) received 11,146 votes, while Debnath received 30,017.

The voter turnout in these by-elections, which were held on September 5, was a respectable 86.50% in the two constituencies. At the Sonamura Girls’ School, the counting was done under strict security.

The opposition Communist Party of India (Marxist), also known as the CPI(M), has opted not to participate in the vote-counting process, accusing the Election Commission of failing to address their concerns regarding significant election manipulation.

According to PTI, the two constituencies’ major contests have been between the ruling BJP and the CPI(M), while Congress and Tipra Motha, the other two opposition parties, have chosen not to field candidates. District Magistrate of Sepahijala, Vishal Kumar, has emphasised that extensive efforts have been taken to guarantee a smooth and transparent counting process.

Latest news

Related news