HomeSportsInsider to India vs New Zealand T20 series

Insider to India vs New Zealand T20 series

In Ahmedabad, India defeated New Zealand by 168 runs, their largest margin of victory in this format.

The BCCI has revealed the whole itinerary for India’s upcoming home series against New Zealand. Team India had already played an ODI series against New Zealand, which they won 3-0. It was now time for the three-match T20 series.

The India and New Zealand cricket teams competed in three T20 International matches, beginning on January 27, 2023, at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi. The final two games were played on January 29th and 1st, 2023, at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow and the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, respectively. New Zealand won the first T20 match by 21 runs, while India won the second T20 match by 6 wickets. India won the third T20 match with a score of 168 runs. The Indian Cricket Team won the three-match T20 series 2-1.

Following the completion of the set of three T20 matches, the teams of India and New Zealand played the third T20 encounter on 1 February 2023, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. This match featured India’s Hardik Pandya and New Zealand’s Mitchell Santner as captains. The Indian side won the match toss and chose to bat first, which proved to be completely accurate.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, the Indian side got off to a fast start, scoring 234 runs for the loss of four wickets in 20 overs. Shubman Gill produced an undefeated 126 runs in 63 balls and was joined by Rahul Tripathi, who scored 44 runs in 22 balls, in these 234 runs. Following this, the New Zealand team came out to bat and took five wickets for 21 runs. The New Zealand squad was then dismissed for 66 runs in 12.1 overs. Hardik Pandya grabbed 6 wickets for India in this match. India won the third Twenty20 International by 168 runs and the three-match series 2-1. Hardik Pandya was named series MVP, and Shubman Gill was named match MVP.

When Hardik received the Champions Trophy, he rushed directly to the players and gave it off to Prithvi Shaw, who did not play but seemed to be the most delighted of the bunch. Prithvi was content to accept the award from Hardik, stand in the middle, and pose for photos. Surprisingly, Hardik was heavily chastised for not offering Prithvi a single and instead sticking with Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill as openers.

Shubman Gill’s maiden T20I century and Hardik Pandya’s four-wicket haul led Team India to a 168-run victory against New Zealand in the third and final T20I encounter on Wednesday at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Team India batted first and produced a mammoth total of 234/4 in 20 overs thanks to Gill’s amazing 126* off 63 balls and Rahul Tripathi’s 44 off 22 balls. Ish Sodhi, Michael Bracewell, Blair Tickner, and Daryl Mitchell each took one wicket for New Zealand.

Later, Hardik Pandya took four wickets, while Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, and Shivam Mavi each took two as the visitors were all out for 66. Team India won the three-match series 2-1 with this victory.

Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (w), Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (c), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav, Umran Malik, and Arshdeep Singh made up India’s playing XI.

While Finn Allen, Devon Conway(w), Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner(c), Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister and Blair Tickner Played in the starting XI of New Zealand.

Latest news

Related news