HomePoliticsTwitter: Indian Politicians Lost Blue Tick as New Rule Implemented

Twitter: Indian Politicians Lost Blue Tick as New Rule Implemented

On April 20th, Twitter removed blue ticks from many politicians and other prominent figures of India as well as other countries.

Name of Politicians lost Blue Tick- CM Yogi Adityanath, CM Mamta Banerjee, CM Arvind Kejriwal, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, CM Nitish Kumar, Puskar Singh Dhami and many others.

Blue tick verification was introduced in 2009. Twitter helps users determine whether politicians, companies, brands, celebrities, news organizations, and many others are of public interest.

Blue ticks were initially used to protect the personalities of prominent personalities and avoid misinformation.

Blue tick serves as an indication that the Twitter account is verified.

Politicians lost blue ticks after Twitter boss Elon Musk introduced a new rule because their Twitter accounts were not subscribed and their phone numbers were not verified.

People will now have to pay for the blue badge. One has to sign up for the Twitter Blue subscription service to retain the blue tick.

In India, the monthly pricing for ios is Rs.900 while web monthly is Rs. 650, and yearly pricing for ios is Rs. 9,400.

Latest news

Related news